Rencontrer
nos gagnantes 

2020-2021  MÉCÉNAT MUSICA PRIX 3 FEMMES 

MARIE-ÈVE BOUCHARD / Librettiste

SONIA PAÇO-ROCCHA / Compositrice

PARIS SABET / Compositrice

NIKA KHANJANI / Librettiste

ANNA PIDGORNA / Compositrice

MARIA REVA / Librettiste

Voir les biographies plus bas

L'échéancier

avril 2020

CREATION LAB: montréal

sep 2020

ATELIER: montréal

mars 2021

ATELIER: avec l'OPERA MCGILL

mai 2021

PERFORMANCE: kingston

automne 2021

PERFORMANCES: montréal/toronto

Kristian Fourier, photographe

SONIA PAÇO-ROCCHIA, compositrice

SONIA PAÇO-ROCCHIA a une pratique diversifiée allant de la composition à l’installation sonore cinétique interactive en passant par l’art web et l’improvisation. Si l’aspect théâtral et visuel fait partie intégrale de son oeuvre, la recherche sonore qui en est au coeur se perçoit dans l’exploitation et l’élargissement des palettes sonores des instruments, ainsi que dans l’utilisation d’instruments inusités, trouvés et inventés. Étant elle-même codeuse professionnelle, elle fabrique elle-même ses interfaces, logiciels de traitement en temps réel du son et instruments. Improvisatrice talentueuse, elle joue solo ou en petits ensembles: instruments non-conventionnels et inventés, voix, basson le tout avec traitement en temps réel. Elle est bassoniste-improvisatrice du London Improviser Orchestra et membre du duo de multiples trompettes avec électroacoustique et traitement en temps réel VibraLib et du duo ZzCc pour ensemble d’automates, piano augmenté et traitement en temps réel. Elle apprécie particulièrement les collaborations et a fait de la musique pour la danse, le théâtre et l’art visuel. Ses oeuvres ont été présentées dans plus d'une centaine d'évènements à travers l'Europe, l'Amérique du Nord et l'Asie. En 2019, elle a fait sept résidences (Québec, Meaford, South River, Laval, Val David, Finlande, Yukon) et elle a complété trois commandes, notamment Ode au Métal pour Quasar qui a reçu deux Prix Opus en 2020. Elle est aussi à la réalisation d'un projet d'installation sonore interactive à l'intérieur d'un fourgon qui sera en tournée en 2020. 

MARIE-ÉVE BOUCHARD (MEB), librettiste

MARIE-ÈVE BOUCHARD (MEB) composa son premier poème en revenant de l’école primaire dans sa banlieue de Loretteville (Québec) et elle s’empressa de la transcrire dans son carnet en forme de licorne. Elle se tourna ensuite vers le violon, tout en dessinant et en écrivant beaucoup dans des carnets en forme de toute sorte d’affaires. Plus tard, irrésistiblement attirée par l’histoire de la musique, le silence et l’odeur des bibliothèques, elle poursuivra ses études en musicologie (Université Laval), tout en faisant quelques détours délicieux vers la création littéraire (poésie, composition de chanson). Elle enregistrera trois disques (Meb esp, Dehors et Spirits & Saints) et publiera quelques zines avant de finalement publier son premier recueil intitulé Aria de Laine (Moult Éditions). Tous les jours, elle essaie de créer quelque chose qu’elle partage au www.chezmeb.com. Le reste du temps, Meb enseigne l'histoire de la musique et la composition de chanson au Cégep de Saint-Laurent et écris des paroles pour Under Electric Light

PARISA SABET, compositrice

PARISA SABET est une compositrice irano-canadienne louangée par les Examinateurs du Live Music de Chicago: “Une compositrice du XXIe siècle à la hausse”. Elle incorpore des éléments uniques des langages musicaux de l’Orient et de l’Occident pour créer un monde acoustique à la fois riche, foisonnant, lyrique et accessible. Ses oeuvres ont été jouées partout en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie, et son répertoire s’étend aux instruments solo, à l’orchestre, ainsi qu’au design sonore et aux musiques originales de film. Parisa a reçu deux fois la bourse Theodoros Mirkopoulos en Composition, et la bourse Irene R. Miller and Anoush Khoshkish en Musique de l’Université de Toronto, où elle a complété son Doctorat en composition musicale sous la supervision de Christos Hatzis. En 2019, elle s’est mérité le prix de Graduation 2019 Tecumesh Sherman Rogers, attribué au diplômé considéré avoir le plus grand potentiel pour une contribution importante dans le domaine de la musique. 

NIKA KHANJANI, librettiste

NIKA KHANJANI est une librettiste irano-canadienne, écrivaine et romancière multidisciplinaire, officiellement formée comme réalisatrice, et travaillant sur différentes plateformes de texte et de performance. Son expérience comme immigrante (d’Iran aux É.-U.) et comme expatriée (des É.-U. au Canada) lui procure un éclairage pour voir et faire des connexions, mais son tempérament humaniste la conduit à trouver les micro-moments interpersonnels qui nous relient les uns aux autres dans un monde de plus en plus frénétique. Comme romancière, elle considère chaque histoire pour en déterminer la forme: texte écrit, son et image en mouvement, ou un spectacle mis en scène. Son inspiration vient de la résilience humaine, notre capacité à nous relever devant l’adversité, et des formidables occasions qu’ont les gens pour exprimer leur amour les uns aux autres. Son répertoire de films comprend Free World Pens (2015), Iran to Texas (2011), Texas, My Brother, and Me (2009), Current (2007), Copyright (2006), et Montreal spring, Shrouded in Mist (2012). Nika a étudié la littérature anglaise à l’Université du Texas et détient une Maîtrise en Production de films de l’Université Concordia. 

ANNA PIDGORNA compositrice

ANNA PIDGORNA est une compositrice canado-ukrainienne, vocaliste et artiste multi-média qui combine le son, l’art visuel, l’écriture et la menuiserie pour créer des oeuvres dramatiques et pittoresques. Elle puise énormément dans les chants folkloriques ukrainiens et y ajoute son style personnel. Avec un amour soutenu pour le plein air, Anna tire son inspiration de la nature, imitant souvent le chant des oiseaux et le cri des animaux. Voici une liste de ses collaborateurs et commanditaires: de Toronto: Soundstreams, Festival 21C, Concerts New Music, Trio Gryphon, Collectif Thin Edge New Music, Michael Bridge, Rachel Mercer; de Montréal: Ensemble Paramirabo, Katelyn Clark, Marina Thibeault; de Vancouver: Ensemble Standing Wave; d’Edmonton: Festival Now Hear This, Ensemble UltraViolet; de New York: Ensembles Sandbox Percussion et Mise-En; de Los Angeles: Orchestres de chambre Delirium Musicum et Kaleidoscope; d’Alaska: Festival Wild Shore; de Boston: Ensemble Ludovico, Trio Klaritas; de Corée/New York: soliste Gamin Kang; et le Projet Irish Language Art Song. Anna Pigorna a reçu deux subventions de la Fondation SOCAN et a représenté le Canada au ISCM World New Music Days à Vienne. Elle détient un Doctorat de l’Université de Princeton, une Maîtrise en Musique de l’Université de Calgary, et un Bacc. de l’Université Mount Allison. Elle est née en Ukraine et, à 12 ans, a immigré au Canada, où elle s’est installée à New Westminster, BC. 

MARIA REVA, librettiste

MARIA REVA écrit de la fiction et des libretti. Son importante collection d’histoires Good Citizens Need Not Fear paraît au printemps 2020 chez Doubleday (É.-U.), Virago (R.-U.), et Knopf Canada comme une section de son programme New Face of Fiction. Ses histoires ont été publiées dans The Atlantic, McSweeney’s, Granta, The Journey Prize Stories, The Best American Short Stories et ailleurs. Elle a gagné le prix RBC Bronwen Wallace pour écrivains émergents du Writers’ Trust du Canada en 2018 et le prix des Magazines nationaux en 2019. Ses collaborations musicales comprennent un libretto d’opéra pour l’Ensemble ERATO, des textes pour Art Song Lab de l’Institut international de Chant de Vancouver, et un script pour City Opera Vancouver. En 2017, l’Ensemble vocal Musica Intima a créé Uta’s Escape, une commande de la compositrice Jennifer Butler basée sur une des histoires de Maria. Ses collaborations actuelles comprennent un cycle de chansons avec Shelley Marwood sur les rencontres amoureuses d'aujourd'hui et un opéra avec Anna Pidgorna commandé par le Festival de Musique Ad Astra (Russell, Kansas). Elle est née en Ukraine et a grandi à Vancouver, BC. Elle a reçu son MFA en fiction et en dramaturgie du Centre Michener pour Écrivains à l’Université du Texas. 

BIOGRAPHIES

2020/21

MENTORAT

Durant le développement de leurs œuvres, les gagnantes vont bénéficier d’une formation avec la compositrice d’opéra, et productrice Luna Pearl Woolf

À PROPOS DE LUNA:

Luna Pearl Woolf

MÉCÉNAT MUSICA PRIX 3 FEMMES 2020-2021 MENTOR/DRAMATURGE

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2019 Jennie Moser Design LLC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Site template by Jennie Moser Design. Template available for purchase at jenniemoserdesign.com/shop.

Introducing 

WINNERS OF
2020-2021  MÉCÉNAT MUSICA PRIX 3 FEMMES 

MARIE-ÈVE BOUCHARD / Librettist

SONIA PAÇO-ROCCHA / Composer

PARIS SABET / Composer

NIKA KHANJANI / Librettist

ANNA PIDGORNA / Composer

MARIA REVA / Librettist

See biographies below

TIMELINE

april 2020

CREATION LAB: montreal

sept 2020

WORKSHOP: montreal

march 2021

WORKSHOP: with OPERA MCGILL

may 2021

PERFORMANCE: KINGSTON

fall 2021

PERFORMANCES: montreal/toronto

Kristian Fourier, photographe

SONIA PAÇO-ROCCHIA, composer

SONIA PAÇO-ROCCHIA has a diverse practice ranging from composition to interactive kinetic sound installations through web art and improvisation. Visual and theatrical aspects are an integral part of her work, just as sound research is at its heart, perceived in her broadening of instruments' sound palettes, as well as in the use of unusual, discovered and invented instruments. Being herself a professional coder, she builds her own interfaces, software programs for real-time sound processing, and instruments. A talented improviser, she plays as a soloist and in small ensembles: non-conventional and invented instruments, the voice, bassoon, all in real-time processing. She is an improvising bassoonist with the London Improviser Orchestra and member of the duo VibraLib (multiple trumpets with electro-acoustics and real-time processing), as well as the duo ZzCc (robots, augmented piano and real-time processing). She particularly enjoys collaborations and has composed music for dance, theatre and visual art. Her works have been presented in hundreds of events across Europe, North America and Asia. In 2019, she participated in 7 residencies (Quebec, Meaford, South River, Laval, Val David, Finland, Yukon) and completed three commissions, including Ode au Métal for Quasar, which received 2 Opus Prizes in 2020. She is also carrying out an interactive sound installation project inside a van, which will be touring this summer 2020. 

MARIE-ÉVE BOUCHARD (MEB), librettist

MARIE-ÈVE BOUCHARD (MEB) composed her first poem while coming home from primary school in her suburb of Loretteville, Québec, and she hurried to write it down in her unicorn-shaped notebook. She then turned to the violin, while continuing to draw and to write often in her variously shaped notebooks. Later, being irresistibly lured toward music history, the silence and smell of libraries, she pursued studies in musicology (Laval University), all the while taking delicious detours into literary creation (poetry, songwriting). MEB has produced three recordings (Meb esp, Dehors and Spirits & Saints) and she published several zines before eventually publishing her first collection entitled Aria de Laine (Moult Editions). Every day she tries to create something that she shares at www.chezmeb.com. With what remains of her time, Meb teaches music history and songwriting at Cégep de Saint-Laurent and writes lyrics for Under Electric Light. 

PARISA SABET, composer

PARISA SABET is an Iranian-Canadian composer praised by the Chicago Live Music Examiner as “a 21st century composer on the rise". She integrates unique elements of Eastern and Western musical languages to create a sonic world that is all at once rich, layered, lyrical, and accessible. Her works have been performed across North America, Europe, and Asia, with a repertory which includes works for solo instruments, orchestra, as well as sound design and original film scores. Parisa is a two-time recipient of the Theodoros Mirkopoulos Fellowship in Composition, and the Irene R. Miller and Anoush Khoshkish Fellowship in Music from University of Toronto where she completed her DMA in music composition under the supervision of Christos Hatzis. In 2019, she was awarded the 2019 Tecumesh Sherman Rogers Graduating Award, given to a graduating student deemed to have the greatest potential for making an important contribution to the field of music. 

NIKA KHANJANI, librettist

NIKA KHANJANI is an Iranian-Canadian librettist, multidisciplinary writer and storyteller, formally trained in filmmaking, and working in various platforms of text and performance. Her experience as an immigrant (from Iran to the US) and as an expat (from the US to Canada) informs her point of view from which to see and make connections, but it is her disposition as a humanist that drives her to find the interpersonal micro-moments that connect us to one another in an increasingly frenetic world. As a storyteller, she considers the form of each story to determine whether it would be best served as a written text, as moving image and sound, or a staged performance. Her inspiration comes from human resilience, our potential to heal from adversity, and the gorgeous ways in which people move forward to show love to one another. Her film credits include Free World Pens (2015), Iran to Texas (2011), Texas, My Brother, and Me (2009), Current (2007), Copyright (2006), and Montreal spring, shrouded in mist (2012). Khanjani studied English Literature at University of Texas and holds an MFA in Film Production from Concordia University. 

ANNA PIDGORNA composer

ANNA PIDGORNA is a Ukrainian-Canadian composer, vocalist and multi-media artist who combines sound, visual arts, writing and carpentry to create works that are dramatic and picturesque. She works extensively with Ukrainian folk singing, incorporating elements of this style in her works. With an enduring love for the outdoors, Pidgorna draws inspiration from the nature, often imitating birds and animals. Her collaborators and commissioners include Toronto’s Soundstreams, 21C Festival, New Music Concerts, Gryphon Trio, Thin Edge New Music Collective, Michael Bridge, Rachel Mercer; Montreal’s Ensemble Paramirabo, Katelyn Clark, Marina Thibeault; Vancouver’s Standing Wave; Edmonton’s Now Hear This Festival, UltraViolet Ensemble; New York’s Sandbox Percussion, Ensemble Mise-En; Los Angeles’ Delirium Musicum, Kaleidoscope Chamber Orchestra; Alaska’s Wild Shore Festival; Boston’s Ludovico Ensemble, Trio Klaritas; Gamin (Korea/NYC) and the Irish Language Art Song Project. She is a recipient of two SOCAN Foundation Awards and represented Canada at the ISCM World New Music Days in Vienna. Pidgorna holds a PhD from Princeton University, a MMus from University of Calgary, and a BA from Mount Allison University. She was born in Ukraine and immigrated to Canada at age 12, where she now makes her home in New Westminster, BC. 

MARIA REVA, librettist

MARIA REVA writes fiction and libretti. Her linked story collection, Good Citizens Need Not Fear, is forthcoming in spring 2020 from Doubleday (US), Virago (UK), and Knopf Canada as part of its New Face of Fiction program. Maria’s stories have appeared in The Atlantic, McSweeney’s, Granta, The Journey Prize Stories, The Best American Short Stories, and elsewhere. She won the Writers’ Trust of Canada’s RBC Bronwen Wallace Award in 2018 and a National Magazine Award in 2019. Her musical collaborations include an opera libretto for ERATO Ensemble, texts for Vancouver International Song Institute’s Art Song Lab, and a script for City Opera Vancouver. In 2017, musica intima vocal ensemble premiered Uta’s Escape, a commission by composer Jennifer Butler based on one of Maria’s stories. Current collaborations include a song cycle with composer Shelley Marwood about modern dating and an opera with composer Anna Pidgorna commissioned by Ad Astra Music Festival (Russell, Kansas). Maria was born in Ukraine and grew up in Vancouver, British Columbia. She received her MFA in fiction and playwriting from the Michener Center for Writers at the University of Texas. 

CREATOR

BIOS

2020/21

MENTORSHIP

Through the development of their pieces, 2020/21 winners will have the opportunity to train with acclaimer opera composer, and producer, Luna Pearl Woolf.

MORE ON LUNA:

Luna Pearl Woolf

MÉCÉNAT MUSICA PRIX 3 FEMMES 2020-2021 MENTOR/DRAMATURG

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

© 2019 Jennie Moser Design LLC. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Site template by Jennie Moser Design. Template available for purchase at jenniemoserdesign.com/shop.